Friday, 6. April 2007

Welcome!

(I'm re-posting this introduction so new readers will know what this is about)

Hi, I decided to create this blog so you can follow my work in creating the next Flex Book. That's right, I am currently working on a third volume!

What's new?

* 1000-2000 new reviews (I have written almost 900 new reviews already, and I intend to write at least 500 more)

* My main focus for new reviews is old stuff from 1975 to 1989. For this book, I want to be as complete as possible and at least include the important records of that era that have been missing in the past. A lot of KBD, early punk and early hardcore classics will be added.

* I am completely rewriting the existing book. I have added a lot of new info and corrected many mistakes, but most importantly, I am re-translating most of the reviews to English. The old ones tend to be very short and inaccurate, so I felt I had to make that right.

* I am also adding some reissue information, especially about CDs. This is not 100% consistent, but I try to at least check Amazon or GEMM for rereleases for many reviews.

I'm not entirely sure where this blog will be headed, and I won't have too much time to waste on writing entries, but I will try to keep you informed and also use it to occasionally ask for information or MP3s.

There is no fixed timeline for the book yet, but I suppose the translating part will cost me at least 3 more months if I keep working on that on a daily basis (we are talking about almost 6000 reviews!!).

My past experience with layout and page breaks suggests that that will take another 1-2 months, and then I want to include a ton of new reviews, too.

So I suppose it will be mid-2007 before I can seriously think about the printing and distribution part.

Let's just see what happens, enjoy...
Cosgrove (guest) - Apr 6, 23:01

The Flex Book

Hopefully the paper et cetera will improve?

flex - Apr 7, 10:53

i guess you're also referring to the binding. there is actually and unfortunately very little i can change in terms of quality without letting the end price explode.

last time i had to resort to thinner 60g paper instead of regular 80g because otherwise the weight of the book would have crossed the 2 kg mark, and that would have meant that I would have to send each and every book as a packet instead of a small package, then the postage cost would have tripled or quadrupled to overseas addresses - unacceptable.

likewise, the glue binding is anything but great, but a hardcover, saddle-stitched edition would have been a LOT more expensive, and I would have run into the same weight problems.

i am thinking about a limited, hard-bound edition for people who use the book a lot and might be willing to pay the extra cost.
in the meantime, there's only one tip i have for heavy users: don't open the book completely (i.e. don't bend the spine). i was always careful with my own copy and it still looks pretty good.

FlexBlog

the making of FLEX Book vol.3

Users Status

You are not logged in.

Navigation

Recent Updates

-
-
flex - Apr 25, 23:34
sorry, no more copies......
sorry, no more copies... I still see occasional copies...
flex (guest) - Jul 22, 17:36
Any updates in the meantime?
Any updates in the meantime?
Branding (guest) - Jun 10, 13:54
last copies - for real
because of some unforeseen events, i will have 60 additional...
flex - Jan 17, 14:19
last orders
I have temporarily suspended the Paypal links on the...
flex - Jan 9, 13:33

Links

Search

 

Status

Online for 6437 days
Last update: Apr 25, 23:34

Credits


Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog